AIOIS Trends TV News Finance Sports Podcasts Music Shop Ent Local Books Movies Dash Relax Gaming Kids Radio
NBA NFL MLB NHL MLS NCAAF NCAAB PGA NASCAR MMA WNBA NCAABBL NCAAH ATP CHLG Europa NATIONS England Spain Italy Germany France Mexico Friendlies esports Boxing GLeague Olympics Rugby F1 CFL XGames Cricket HorseRacing WWE PBA Betting Analytics Poker

2020–21 Liga MX season

The 2020–21 Liga MX season (known as the Liga BBVA MX for sponsorship reasons) was the 74th professional season of the top-flight football league in Mexico. The season was divided into two championships—the Torneo Guardianes 2020 and the Torneo Guardianes 2021—each in an identical format and each contested by the same eighteen teams. Both the Apertura 2020 and Clausura 2021 tournaments were renamed "Torneo Guardianes 2020" and "Torneo Guardianes 2021" (stylized as Guard1anes) to honor healthcare workers in the aftermath of the COVID-19 pandemic in Mexico. The Guardianes 2020 tournament began on 24 July 2020.The season saw the debut of Mazatlán F.C., replacing Monarcas Morelia, who were relocated to Mazatlán, Sinaloa to become the new Mazatlán franchise, despite backlash from supporters, former players, and the sports media across Mexico. The season saw an expanded playoff system. Twelve teams qualified to the Liguilla instead of eight.


Estadio Ciudad de los Deportes

Estadio Ciudad de los Deportes (English: “Sports City Stadium”; formerly Estadio Azul) is a 33,000-seat stadium located in Ciudad de los Deportes, Mexico City. This sports facility is used for association football matches and for American football as well. The Tazón México has been played at the stadium. It was the home of Mexican football club Cruz Azul until 2018, hence the previous nickname of Estadio Azul, and the Mexico national football team, especially in the early 1990s. In summer 2016, it was announced by Mexico City authorities that plans to demolish the stadium would begin at the end of the 2017-2018 Liga MX season. However, in July 2018, the demolition project was put on hold. It is presently the home of Atlante F.C.. The stadium was dubbed again with the nickname Estadio Azulgrana which it previously held during the 1980s and 1990s due to the fact that it was the home of Atlante F.C. Both times Mexico hosted the World Cup, Estadio Azul did not host matches mainly due to the age of the structure, bad parking facilities, and complex traffic patterns. A peculiarity of this stadium is that it is built as a pit with the playing field is below street level. Just beside the stadium is the Plaza México, the world's largest bullring.


Football in Mexico

Mexico's most popular sport is football (called fútbol in Mexico). As of 2020, the top tier leagues in Mexico are Liga MX for the men and the Liga MX Femenil for women. Football became a professional men's sport in 1943. Since then, Mexico's most successful men's club has been Club América, with thirteen Liga MX titles.The first women's professional football league in Mexico was established from the 2017–18 Liga MX Femenil season. It set new world records for attendances at women's professional football matches.Antonio Carbajal was the first player to appear in five World Cups, and Hugo Sánchez was named best CONCACAF player of the 20th century by IFFHS. Mexico's largest capacity stadiums are Estadio Azteca, Estadio Olímpico Universitario and Estadio Jalisco. As of 2006, it was estimated that there were in the nation over 324,000 registered players and approximately 8,155,000 unregistered players.


Liga MX

The Primera División de México (Liga BBVA MX for sponsorship reasons with BBVA through its Mexican subsidiary BBVA México), is the top professional football division of the Mexican football league system. Administered by the Mexican Football Federation, the league comprises 18 clubs with plans to add 2 more teams. The season has two tournaments: Apertura, which starts in the summer, and Clausura, which starts in the winter. The first 4 teams in the table at the end of the regular phase of the tournament qualify to the liguilla ("mini-league", or "playoff"), while the next 8 teams qualify for another playoff that determines the next 4 liguilla spots. The league is considered the strongest in North America, and among the strongest in all of the Americas. According to the International Federation of Football History and Statistics, the league currently ranks 20th worldwide and was ranked as the 10th strongest league in the first decade of the 21st century (2001–2010). According to CONCACAF, the league – with an average attendance of 25,557 during the 2014–15 season – draws the largest crowds on average of any football league in the Americas and the third largest crowds of any professional sports league in North America, behind only the National Football League and Major League Baseball, and ahead of the Canadian Football League. It is also the fourth most attended football league in the world behind Germany's Bundesliga, England's Premier League and Spain's La Liga.Of the 56 teams to have competed in the league, América has won the title 13 times, followed by Guadalajara (12), Toluca (10), Cruz Azul (9), León (8), UANL and UNAM (7). The current league champions are Cruz Azul, winners of the Guardianes 2021 tournament.



If MLS remains at 30 clubs.

Sun, May 17, 2020

About Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy Contact Us
© 2021 All-in-one Internet Search. All rights reserved.