AIOIS Trends TV News Finance Sports Podcasts Music Shop Ent Local Books Movies Dash Relax Gaming Kids Radio
NBA NFL MLB NHL MLS NCAAF NCAAB PGA NASCAR MMA WNBA NCAABBL NCAAH ATP CHLG Europa NATIONS England Spain Italy Germany France Mexico Friendlies esports Boxing GLeague Olympics Rugby F1 CFL XGames Cricket HorseRacing WWE PBA Betting Analytics Poker

Image: atp sports

Dunya News

Mon, Nov 22, 2021 06:04 PM PT

ATP Tour

Mon, Aug 09, 2021 12:00 AM PT

ATP Tour

Thu, Oct 28, 2021 12:00 AM PT

2017 ATP Finals – Singles

Grigor Dimitrov defeated David Goffin in the final, 7–5, 4–6, 6–3 to win the Singles tennis title at the 2017 ATP Finals. Dimitrov became the first debutant to win the year-end championship since Àlex Corretja in 1998, and it marked the first time since 2008 that two first-time finalists contested the title at the event.Andy Murray was the defending champion, but did not qualify for the event this year due to injury. This was the first time since 2007 that Murray failed to qualify for the ATP Finals. Of the nine participants from the previous year, only Marin Čilić, Dominic Thiem and Goffin played again this year (Stan Wawrinka qualified but could not participate due to injury). Former world No. 1 and five-time ATP Finals champion Novak Djokovic failed to qualify for the first time since 2006, having prematurely ended his season due to an elbow injury. The top two seeds were Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer, neither of whom played in 2016. Nadal withdrew from the tournament after his first match due to a knee injury. Federer participated in the year-end championships for a record-extending 15th time but lost in the semifinals to Goffin. Goffin became only the fifth player in history to defeat both Nadal and Federer in the same tournament, and the third to do so in the ATP Finals after Nikolay Davydenko in 2009 and Djokovic in 2013 and 2015.


2020 ATP Finals

The 2020 ATP Finals (also known as the 2020 Nitto ATP Finals for sponsorship reasons) was a men's tennis tournament played at the O2 Arena in London, United Kingdom, from 15 to 22 November 2020. It was the season-ending event for the highest-ranked singles players and doubles teams on the 2020 ATP Tour. This was the final year that London hosted the event. On 14 August 2020, it was announced the tournament would be held without spectators in attendance following guidelines imposed due to the COVID-19 pandemic in the United Kingdom.The tournament took place from 15 to 22 November at the O2 Arena in London, United Kingdom. It was the 51st edition of the tournament (46th in doubles). The tournament was run by the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) and was part of the 2020 ATP Tour. The event took place on indoor hard courts. It served as the season-ending championships for players on the ATP Tour. In singles (and in doubles with teams in place of individual players), the eight players who qualified for the event were split into two groups of four. During this stage, players competed in a round-robin format.


2020 ATP Finals – Singles

Daniil Medvedev defeated Dominic Thiem in the final, 4–6, 7–6(7–2), 6–4 to win the Singles title at the 2020 ATP Finals. It was his first title at the ATP Finals, and he became the first player to defeat the top 3 ranked players in the world en route to a title since David Nalbandian at the 2007 Madrid Masters, as well as the fourth player to do so overall after Nalbandian, Novak Djokovic and Boris Becker.Stefanos Tsitsipas was the defending champion, but he was eliminated from the competition in the round robin. This was the first time since 2008 that the defending champion was eliminated in the round robin. Novak Djokovic was attempting to equal Roger Federer's record of most ATP Finals titles (6), but he lost to Thiem in the semifinals. His loss guaranteed a maiden ATP Finals winner for the fifth consecutive year. Rafael Nadal was attempting to become only the second male player (after Andre Agassi) to complete the career Super Slam, but he lost to Medvedev in the semifinals.Andrey Rublev and Diego Schwartzman made their debuts at the event. Despite qualifying with the world No. 5 ranking, Federer was absent due to a knee injury. Between 2001 and this event, Federer only missed the 2016 year-end championships.


ATP Finals

The ATP Finals is the second highest tier of annual men's tennis tournaments after the four Grand Slam tournaments. The ATP Finals are the season-ending championships of the ATP Tour and feature the top eight singles players and doubles teams of the ATP Rankings. The tournament has been one of the popular candidates for the moniker of "the fifth grand slam". The tournament was first held in 1970, although it was known under a different name. Roger Federer holds the record for the most singles titles with six, while Peter Fleming and John McEnroe hold the record for the most doubles titles with seven. In the current tournament, winners are awarded up to a maximum of 1500 ranking points. Participating players win 200 points for each round robin match win, 400 for a semi-final win, and 500 for winning the final.


ATP Tour 500

The ATP 500 tournaments (previously known as the ATP World Tour 500 tournaments, ATP International Series Gold, and ATP Championship Series) are the fourth highest tier of annual men's tennis tournament after the four Grand Slam tournaments, ATP Finals, and the ATP Tour Masters 1000.The series includes 13 tournaments, with 500 ranking points awarded for the events' singles champions – which accounts for the name of the series. Tournaments have various draws of 32 and 48 for singles and 16 and 24 for doubles. It is mandatory for leading players to enter at least four 500 events, including at least one after the US Open; if they play fewer than four, or fail to play in one after the US Open they get a "zero" score towards their world ranking for each one short. Roger Federer holds the record for most singles titles at 24, while Daniel Nestor holds the record for most doubles titles won with 20.


ATP Tour Masters 1000

The ATP Masters tournaments (previously known as ATP Masters Series) is an annual series of nine tennis tournaments featuring the top-ranked players on the ATP Tour. The series' events have been held in Europe and North America since the debut of ATP Tour in 1990, and also in Asia since 2009. The ATP Masters, along with the ATP Finals, constitute the most coveted trophies in men's tennis after the four majors, and the tournaments are collectively known as the "Big Titles" (alongside the Olympics).In singles, Novak Djokovic holds the record for the most titles with 37 since the Masters Series began in 1990. By completing the set of all nine Masters singles titles by 2018, Djokovic became the first and only player to achieve the Career Golden Masters. Andre Agassi, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray have each won seven different titles. In 2020, Djokovic completed his Career Double Golden Masters. In doubles, the Bryan brothers (Bob and Mike) have won a record 39 doubles titles, all as a team. Daniel Nestor and the Bryan brothers have each won all nine titles throughout their careers.



Tennis News & Discussion

Wed, Jun 11, 2008
All things Tennis

Sat, Jun 23, 2012
WTA 2022 Hype Thread

Tue, Nov 23, 2021

About Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy Contact Us
© 2021 All-in-one Internet Search. All rights reserved.