AIOIS Trends TV News Finance Sports Podcasts Music Shop Ent Local Books Movies Dash Relax Gaming Kids Radio

Reddit Sports

Mon, Sep 17, 2007
Eagles - Watch r/eagles fly!

Tue, May 27, 2008
Fantasy Ps5

Wed, Jan 19, 2022
NFL Playoff Pals?

Wed, Jan 19, 2022

Last 6 Hours
Last 1 Day
Last 3 Days
How to search by date range:
They can be chained together


Thu, Jan 06, 2022 05:34 PM PT

NFL postseason explained  Franchise Sports

Franchise Sports

Sat, Dec 25, 2021 12:00 AM PT


2019–20 NFL playoffs

The 2019–20 NFL playoffs, the playoff tournament for the 2019 season, began on January 4, 2020, and concluded with the Kansas City Chiefs becoming champions by defeating the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl LIV on February 2 at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. For the first time since 2010–11, the New England Patriots did not appear in the AFC Championship Game, and for the first time since 2015–16, they did not play in the Super Bowl, as they were eliminated in the Wild Card round by the Tennessee Titans. This was the last postseason in which the NFL playoffs used a 12-team format, making it also the last postseason in which the #2-seeded team in each conference received a first-round bye. For the first time in NFL history, two wild card playoff games went to overtime; all four games were decided by one score.


2020–21 NFL playoffs

The 2020–21 NFL playoffs was the playoff tournament for the 2020 season. It began on January 9, 2021 and concluded with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers becoming champions by defeating the Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl LV on February 7 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida. This marked the first, and to date only, time a team has played the Super Bowl at their home field, as the Tampa Bay Buccaneers reached the title game after winning three playoff games on the road. The league expanded its playoff system from a 12-team to a 14-team tournament, adding a third wild card team for each conference for the first time since the 2001 season, and only awarding each conference's division winner with the best record a first round bye. The Wild Card round was thus extended from two to three games per day.The playoffs were played during the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States, and each game's attendance was limited due to local health restrictions (See also 2020 NFL season § COVID-19 restrictions). Had a serious outbreak occurred during the regular season, the league had contingency plans to delay the postseason, eliminate the bye week before the Super Bowl and postpone the game itself to as late as February 28. NFL owners also approved an additional alternative plan to implement a 16-team playoff format, with no teams getting a bye, if "meaningful" regular season games were canceled because of the virus.The Cleveland Browns and eventual Super Bowl champions Tampa Bay Buccaneers, who had not made it to the playoffs since 2002 and 2007, respectively, and thus held the two longest playoff appearance droughts in the league at the time, both qualified for the postseason in 2020, giving the New York Jets, who had not appeared since 2010, the longest active playoff appearance drought. Conversely, the New England Patriots missed the postseason for the first time since 2008, ending the longest playoff appearance streak in NFL history. For the first time since 2017–18, no games went to overtime.


NFL playoffs

The National Football League (NFL) playoffs are a single-elimination tournament held after the regular season to determine the NFL champion. Currently, seven teams from each of the league's two conferences qualify for the playoffs. A tie-breaking procedure exists if required. The tournament culminates in the Super Bowl: the league's championship game in which two teams, one from each conference, play each other to become champion of the NFL. NFL postseason history can be traced to the first NFL Championship Game in 1933, though in the early years, qualification for the game was based solely on regular-season records. From 1933 to 1966, the NFL postseason generally only consisted of the NFL Championship Game, which pitted the league's two division winners against each other (pending any one-game playoff matches that needed to be held to break ties in the division standings). After 1967, the playoffs were expanded to allow four teams to qualify for the tournament. When the league merged with the American Football League (AFL) in 1970, the playoffs were expanded to eight teams. The playoffs were expanded to ten teams in 1978, twelve in 1990, and fourteen in 2020. Among the major professional sports leagues in the United States, the NFL postseason is the oldest continuously run playoffs to use a single-elimination tournament in all of its rounds. Major League Baseball (MLB) has traditionally used "best-of" series formats, first holding its Wild Card postseason round in 2012.


All rights reserved.
© 2022 All-in-one Internet Search.