AIOIS Trends TV News Finance Sports Podcasts Music Shop Ent Local Books Movies Dash Relax Gaming Kids Radio

CHC Farm System

Wed, Apr 08, 2015

Amazin’ But True

New York Post

Sat, Nov 06, 2021 02:41 PM PT

Pinstripe Pod

New York Post

Thu, May 06, 2021 08:25 AM PT

Topic: Luke Voit

Thu, Sep 17, 2020 01:48 PM PT

Topic: Aaron Judge

Sun, Aug 16, 2020 10:45 AM PT

New York Yankees


Wed, Sep 29, 2021 01:23 PM PT

Last 6 Hours
Last 1 Day
Last 3 Days
How to search by date range:
They can be chained together


2014 National League Wild Card Game

The 2014 National League Wild Card Game was a play-in game during Major League Baseball's (MLB) 2014 postseason played between the National League's (NL) two wild card teams, the San Francisco Giants and the Pittsburgh Pirates. It was held at PNC Park in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, on October 1, 2014, starting at 8:07 p.m. EDT. After both teams finished the regular season with identical records of 88–74, the Pirates were awarded home field for the game, as they won the season series against the Giants, four games to two. Despite this advantage, the Giants won by a score of 8–0 and advanced to play the Washington Nationals in the NL Division Series. In addition to being the third NL Wild Card Game played, it is notable for the first postseason grand slam hit by a shortstop. The game was televised on ESPN, and was also broadcast on ESPN Radio.


2017 Arizona Diamondbacks season

The 2017 Arizona Diamondbacks season was the franchise's 20th season in Major League Baseball and their 20th season at Chase Field and in Phoenix, Arizona. They began the season on April 2 at home against the San Francisco Giants. The Diamondbacks finished the season 93–69 to finish in second place in the National League West Division, 11 games behind the Los Angeles Dodgers. They also flipped their record from the previous year, in which they went 69-93. On September 24, the Diamondbacks clinched a Wild Card berth with losses by the Milwaukee Brewers and the St. Louis Cardinals. They also clinched home field for the Wild Card game after a 3–2 walk-off victory over the Miami Marlins. This marked the first trip to the playoffs for the Diamondbacks since 2011. In the Wild Card Game, they defeated the Colorado Rockies to advance the National League Division Series against the Los Angeles Dodgers. The Diamondbacks were then swept by the Dodgers in three games, ending their postseason run.


List of Major League Baseball tie-breakers

A tie-breaker is required in Major League Baseball (MLB) when two or more teams are tied at the end of the regular season for a postseason position such as a league pennant (prior to the introduction of the League Championship Series in 1969), a division title, or a wild card spot. Both the American League (AL) and the National League (NL) currently use a one-game playoff format for tie-breakers, although the NL used a best-of-three series prior to 1969, when the leagues were split into divisions. As these tie-breaker games count as part of the regular season and MLB teams have 162-game regular season schedules, the tie-breaker games are sometimes referred to as "Game 163".Sixteen tie-breakers – 12 single-game and four series – have been played in MLB history. In baseball statistics, tie-breaker games count as regular season games with all events in them counted towards regular season statistics. This can have implications on statistical races, such as when Matt Holliday won the batting average and runs batted in titles thanks in part to his performance in the 2007 tie-breaker. Home-field advantage for tie-breakers was determined by a coin flip through the 2008 season, after which performance-based criteria, starting with head-to-head record of the tied teams, were put in place.Although there have been no situations requiring a tie-breaker between more than two teams, it is possible. In 2007, for example, the Philadelphia Phillies, New York Mets, San Diego Padres, Colorado Rockies, and Arizona Diamondbacks finished the season within two games of one another. The possibility existed for as many as four teams to be locked in a series of tie-breakers that year to decide the NL East, West, and Wild Card. Similarly, late in the 2012 season the possibility existed for the New York Yankees, Baltimore Orioles, and either the Texas Rangers or Oakland Athletics to all finish with the same record.


NFL playoffs

The National Football League (NFL) playoffs are a single-elimination tournament held after the regular season to determine the NFL champion. Currently, seven teams from each of the league's two conferences qualify for the playoffs. A tie-breaking procedure exists if required. The tournament culminates in the Super Bowl: the league's championship game in which two teams, one from each conference, play each other to become champion of the NFL. NFL postseason history can be traced to the first NFL Championship Game in 1933, though in the early years, qualification for the game was based solely on regular-season records. From 1933 to 1966, the NFL postseason generally only consisted of the NFL Championship Game, which pitted the league's two division winners against each other (pending any one-game playoff matches that needed to be held to break ties in the division standings). After 1967, the playoffs were expanded to allow four teams to qualify for the tournament. When the league merged with the American Football League (AFL) in 1970, the playoffs were expanded to eight teams. The playoffs were expanded to ten teams in 1978, twelve in 1990, and fourteen in 2020. Among the major professional sports leagues in the United States, the NFL postseason is the oldest continuously run playoffs to use a single-elimination tournament in all of its rounds. Major League Baseball (MLB) has traditionally used "best-of" series formats, first holding its Wild Card postseason round in 2012.